Scope and Contents
Materials relating to Futuna Chapel
In 1958, six years into his private practice, Hawke’s Bay architect John Scott was commissioned by the Society of Mary to design a chapel for their spiritual retreat in Karori, Wellington.
Built by the Brothers of the Society themselves, and embellished by Auckland sculptor Jim Allen, Futuna Chapel opened in 1961 and immediately became a talking point among architects and a mecca for aspiring members of the profession.
In the 50 years since, this little private building hidden away the Wellington suburb of Karori has become generally regarded as an architectural masterpiece and perhaps the most complete example of a true modern ‘indigenous’ New Zealand design.
Futuna Chapel is generally regarded as one of the most significant New Zealand buildings of the 20th century. It won the New Zealand Institute of Architect’s gold medal in 1968, and the 25 year award in 1986. The Chapel’s architect, John Scott, was posthumously awarded a NZIA Gold Meal for Enduring Architecture in 1999.
Description copied from Futuna Trust.
- Creation: 1987
Language of Materials
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Code for undetermined script
Part of the Tapuaka Heritage & Archive Collections - JC Beaglehole Reading Room, Victoria University of Wellington Library Repository
P O Box 3438
Wellington 6140 New Zealand
+64 4 4635681